Ode to the Avocado

Hey Hey! IMAG0172So yesterday I talked The Boy into going to Nordstrom Rack with me.  We made a quick pit stop by Jamba Juice because I had never been there.  Maybe I’m the only one, but I didn’t realize it was a smoothie place.  I thought it was going to be similar to the juice bar at Whole Foods.  Shocker.  I was scarred for life, but we managed to find three kinds of juices.  I got the Triple Berry Antioxidant and The Boy got a Triple Revitalizer.  I wouldn’t dare tell him, but his was better. He probably figured it out when I kept stealing his!

After that, while waiting for our friend Suzanne, we went to a small pub called Leon’s Lounge and had a couple of beers.  The IMAG0173atmosphere reminded me of a speakeasy.  When Suzanne got there, we hopped on the metrorail to Reliant Stadium and saw Zac Brown Band! And we got tIMAG0177o sit in a BOX.  Free alcohol and food, I’ll take it! The concert was just ehhhh.  I just thought ZBB would’ve done a better job.  Maybe it had something to do with the fact that for the first time in my life at a concert, I wasn’t trashed, but I really thought he would have put on a better show! It was still an awesome (and free) time though!

Moving on.  Let’s talk about Avocados! 

The avocado is one of my favorite foods. EVER. It generally has a bad rep because it’s really high in Avocadofat, but they’re “good for you” fats!

When you’re buying an avocado at the store, make sure you get one that is REALLY dark green if you’re wanting to eat it that day.  I usually pick up three or so at a time, and I get one that is completely ripened and a couple that are still bright green.  If you put them in a fruit basket together, the others will ripen very quickly.

Avocado has many good uses, umm guacamole anybody? And it usually keeps me full for three or four hours.  There are TONS of ways to incorporate avocados into your diet.  Like I told you yesterday, I love to mix mine in an egg scramble.  I also like to just make guacamole.  Celery sticks and carrots are both really good ways to scoop that deliciousness into your mouth.

Avocados are also really good when you cut them in half, fill them with salsa, and top with cheese and put them under a broiler for a few minutes. I like to put half of an avocado on one half of an English muffin and put that in the broiler, also.  Then I top it with an egg.  Use your imagination! There are so many different ways to eat avocado and it really is a “heart healthy” fruit.

How do you like to eat avocados? Got any new recipes for me?

Leave a Reply

